

Texas Tech University

The Faculty Senate

April 20, 1984

TO:

Members of the Faculty Senate

FROM:

William J. Mayer-Oakes, President

rico J. Hlayer, Kotas SUBJECT: Agenda and call for special meeting (Bylaws, Section 7)

The Faculty Senate is hereby called to meet on Wednesday, April 25, 1984, at 3:30 p.m. in Room 4, Holden Hall, with the following agenda:

- I. Consideration of two resolutions from both 1983-84 and 1984-85 agenda committees, as follows:
 - A. Resolved that the Faculty Senate call a special meeting of the voting faculty of TTU to discuss the "new tenure policy" (to meet on Friday, April 27 at 2:30 p.m.)
 - Resolved that the Faculty Senate subsequently conduct a mail ballot of all voting faculty, polling for their "approval" or 'disapproval' of the "new tenure policy."
- II. Adjournment
- Senators needing a copy of the new tenue policy can get one from N.B. the Faculty Senate office.



Texas Tech University

The Faculty Senate

April 25, 1984

Dr. Lauro F. Cavazos, President Texas Tech University Campus

Dear President Cavazds:

The Faculty Senate met in special session today, unanimously approving each of the following resolutions:

- A. Resolved that the Faculty Senate call a special meeting of the voting faculty of TTU to discuss the "new tenure policy" (to meet on Friday, April 27 at 2:30 p.m.)
- B. Resolved that the Faculty Senate subsequently conduct a mail ballot of all voting faculty, polling for their "approval" or "disapproval" of the "new tenure policy."

The Senate officers think that it is extremely important for you to appear at the special meeting of all faculty on Friday, April 27. Four faculty members (Professors Brink, Collins, Hagler and Shine) will speak briefly. The balance of the meeting will be devoted to discussion of the proposed new tenure policy. No voting or other action is called for at this meeting which is for the purpose of exchanging information. The Senate extends to you a special and a cordial invitation to attend and to address the faculty. We will provide you a place on the agenda in advance of the general discussion from the floor.

Having devoted the last thirteen years of my life to Texas Tech University, I have a very strong motive for seeking the best for it, as I know you do. I personally urge you to attend. It is also my personal feeling that you will win significant faculty support by simply being on the platform. The symbolic value of your presence there should not be underestimated.

The position of the Faculty Senate executive is clearly in support of minimizing any further damage to Texas Tech University from this difficult and important tenure situation. We are actively seeking viable ways to accompodate and ameliorate what seems increasingly clearly to be building up into a massive and destructive conflict between the faculty and your office. We stand ready to consider ways to move forward positively, jointly with you.

Sincerely yours,

William J. Mayer-Oakes

President

FACULTY SENATE MONTHLY MEETING ATTENDANCE REGISTER

ATTENDANCE REGISTER
Shil 25, 1984

AGRICULTURE

Ronald E. Sosebee

Billy G. Freeman

C. Reed Richardson

ARTS & SCIENCES

Jerry D. Berlin Ed Burkhardt

Tom McLaughlin \(\)
Nancy P. Hickerson

Judson Maynard

Neale J. Pearson M/0

Wolodymyr T. Zyla N.10

Wm. Mayer-Oakes

Jerry Hudson

Georgette Gettel

Joe Adamcik

Edna M. Gott EM &

John H. Burnett

James A. Goss

Murray Havens

Harley Oberhelman - Une Bus.

Henry Shine

Monty Strauss

Ernest Sullivan

Briggs Twyman

John Wunder

BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION

Lawrence B. Chonko

Lane K. Anderson

Robert J. Freeman RAJ

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION

Frank Bloomer

David Welton

William Sparkman

beliefpuha

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING

Lloyd V. Urban - Um bu

Paul F. Williams Tow.

M. M. Ayoub

Kishor C. Mehta

Clarence E. Teske 🕖

C. V. G. Vallabhan

COLLEGE OF HOME ECONOMICS

Merrilyn N. Cummings

Evelyn Davis

Samina Khap

SCHOOL OF LAW

Charles P. Bubany

James R. Eissinger

SENATORS AT-LARGE

James W. Graves

Gary S. Elbow

-Virginia M. Sowell The da

Murray Coulter

Cora McKown

Elizabeth Sasser

Paul Dixon

Marvin Dvoracek

Henry A. Wright Now

GUESTS

Position:

Professor of Economics

Name of State of Stat